PDA

View Full Version : Grouping Data into Buckets

bflorez
10-04-2005, 12:37 PM
Hey Guys,

I'm fairly new to VBA / heavy Office use, but I think I have a problem that could be relatively easily solved by a clever VBA solution. I deal with a lot of data that needs to be grouped into meaningful buckets - for example, a bunch of ages I'd like to group into age groups (e.g. Under 18, 18-21, 22-35, etc.)

I'd like a way to have Excel automatically tell me how many people are in a range of values that I provide and a percentage of the total number of people.

I'd ALSO like it to have the option to automatically determine those value ranges to fit a defined percentage of people in it. For example, I could say I want 3 buckets, with a 25%, 50%, 25% distribution, or 5 buckets with a uniform 10% distribution.

The number of records I'm looking at varies drastically, so the script should be able to handle any number of records (up to 65K or so, of course :)

Any ideas?

Thanks for your help.

Warm Regards,
Brendan

MWE
10-04-2005, 03:09 PM
Hey Guys,

I'm fairly new to VBA / heavy Office use, but I think I have a problem that could be relatively easily solved by a clever VBA solution. I deal with a lot of data that needs to be grouped into meaningful buckets - for example, a bunch of ages I'd like to group into age groups (e.g. Under 18, 18-21, 22-35, etc.)

I'd like a way to have Excel automatically tell me how many people are in a range of values that I provide and a percentage of the total number of people.

I'd ALSO like it to have the option to automatically determine those value ranges to fit a defined percentage of people in it. For example, I could say I want 3 buckets, with a 25%, 50%, 25% distribution, or 5 buckets with a uniform 10% distribution.

The number of records I'm looking at varies drastically, so the script should be able to handle any number of records (up to 65K or so, of course :)

Any ideas?

Thanks for your help.

Warm Regards,
Brendan