PDA

View Full Version : I Need an Array Formula?

roboticskid
02-08-2016, 03:19 PM
Hey Everyone!

I am new to VBA in general but am really excited to use it to make the most out of Excel spreadsheets. Currently I am working on a Scouting Sheet for my robotics team and ran into an issue that is far beyond my understanding of knowledge.

(I attached the Excel file below in case since I am not sure what you might need- Using Excel 2013 to edit)

So far I have created a User Form that deposits information into a large table on the Worksheet "Data"
I am now working on analyzing that data on a separate Worksheet "Autonomous Analysis" The idea is to get count the occurrences of each team starting at a particular obstacle to tally in the chart labelled "Starting Position Tendencies"

For Example:
Right now in the table in the "Data" Worksheet, Team Number 558 starts at the Low Bar. So in the "Autonomous Analysis" Worksheet there should be a one in the table called "Starting Position Tendencies" where 558 and Low Bar intersect. This starts to get complicated because I need the VBA code to cycle through the table in "Data" Worksheet looking for a particular team (say Team 195) and then find each occurrence of that Team number and then tally whatever value occuring in the Starting Position column into the table on Worksheet "Table Analysis" (perhaps there is a betteer way?)

I have currently messed around with For and While functions to loop through but I can't figure out to get it to go through each team (right now I have three, need to make it support about 100)

Please feel free to leave any comments or questions, especially if you need a better explanation of what I am trying to do (just in a rush right now).

If you go to the end, Thanks for reading!

p45cal
02-08-2016, 05:06 PM
You're discovering how difficult things can be when trying to summarise data!
There's a more efficient way with a pivot table(s).