PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED:] Copy value of cell if date matches the date of another sheet

nbench
02-15-2016, 09:44 AM
I have two sheets in the same workbook, one is a daily sheet and the other is a monthly summary. The same file is saved over and over again with just a change of name and date.

What I am trying to do is check the date on the daily sheet, and copy and paste a value from that sheet into the second spreadsheet on the appropriate row/column

I am using excel 2010

EXAMPLE:

(sheet 1)
Date is cell (J, 1)
I want to copy the value in cell (C, 30)
(Sheet 2)
I have the dates listed from (B7:B35) for the month
I want the value of cell (c, 30) pasted to (AO7:AO35)

thanks in advance

nbench
02-15-2016, 09:45 AM
Here is an example of my code, btw... I am a rookie at best and not familiar with VBA syntax

Sub CopyBasedonSheet1()

Dim i As Long

For i = 7 To 35
If Worksheets("Daily Reports").Cells("J", 1) = Worksheets("February Summary").Cells("B", i) Then
Worksheets("Daily Reports").Cells("C", "30").Value = Worksheets("February Summary").Cells("AO", i).Value

Else
End If
Next i

End Sub

SamT
02-15-2016, 12:53 PM
This is only your code, with corrected syntax. any logical errors are still included. Note two ways to use "Cells()"

Sub CopyBasedonSheet1()

Dim i As Long

For i = 7 To 35
If Worksheets("Daily Reports").Range("J1") = Worksheets("February Summary").Cells(i, 2) Then
Worksheets("Daily Reports").Range("C30).Value = Worksheets("February Summary").Cells(i, "AO").Value
End If
Next i
End Sub

I prefer to put the Range to check on the left of the equation and the Value on the right side. I still have made no changes in logic

Sub CopyBasedonSheet1()
Dim i As Long

For i = 7 To 35
'Note one line IF. Space Underscore is Line Continuation.
If Worksheets("February Summary").Cells(i, 2) = Worksheets("Daily Reports").Range("J1") Then _
Worksheets("February Summary").Cells(i, "AO") = Worksheets("Daily Reports").Range("C30").
Next i
End Sub

About the logic: