PDA

View Full Version : Insert value after matching with existing cell

fibonaccistu
02-22-2016, 09:29 AM
Hello! I'm very new to VBA so I apologize for my ignorance. I've been working on a Userform for logging ordered pulled by the warehouse workers at my job. The warehouse worker selects their own name from a list of option buttions and then enters in values for Sales Order Number, Customer Number, Order Time, # of Line Items, and then the Start and Finish times. All of these values get written to the worksheet at the same time when the OK button is clicked in the next empty row. A second warehouse worker checks the first for errors, but this doesn't happen until later in the day, so I need to be able to enter in values for a specific row retroactively. I'm trying to create a second userform that will let me select the "checking" warehouse worker (obWorker) and then insert that value in column G for a row with the existing Sales Order number in column A. So the second userform just has a list of option buttons for the workers and a text field to look up the SO number. I really have no idea where to begin. Any and all help is much appreciated.

SamT
02-22-2016, 06:24 PM
Welcome to VBA Express, Fibonaccistu, Any relation to Leonardo? :D

If you already have the Sales Order in electronic format somewhere it is usually best to transfer all the data from that storage to the UserForm.

If this is not the case, I suggest that your first design the UserForm as it would be used in the future by someone who is dedicated to this task. Then only add the functionality that you and your warehouse-men need. This way, you can be certain that all the bugs have been worked out and when you reduce the functionality of the Warehouse version both versions will still be compatible .

Since Data is the precursor of Function, first design the Spreadsheet Table(s) where all the information will be stored. Consider events that occur Quarterly, semi-annually and annually.