PDA

View Full Version : Using ADO with Excel

Stefano
03-08-2016, 02:54 AM
Goodmorning everyone,
my first post on this awesome forum, and yet a question for you experts :banghead:
First of all, I'm not a programmer nor a coder, of any type... but I'm playing with VBA from some months.

So, the problem: in our company we need a practical way to manage components database, and thus to compile data sheets with them.
All the job has been manually done for years, one excel sheet per component (~ 600), and data sheets compiled manually row by row, component by component.

Now I decided to optimise this tedious and unsafe method:

I put all the components in ONE file organised like a database (from now let's call it DATA_SOURCE)
I created a model of data sheet (from now let's call it COMPILED) to be populated with data from DATA_SOURCE

Obviously every data taken from DATA_SOURCE have to be refreshable, in order to keep always everything up to date.

And here the problems.... as not a programmer, I probably miss the basis of everything about it!

What I have so far:

DATA_SOURCE, an xlsm file with 20 sheets (one for each component type), and every sheet has a table and a named range (to sort from)
COMPILED, another xlsm file, with a custom form to choose components from

Now, in COMPILED I've set up an user form with some combo box to select components
User form connect to DATA_SOURCE via this string:

cnn.ConnectionString = "Provider=Microsoft.ACE.OLEDB.12.0;" & _
"Data Source=" & matWb & ";" & _
"Extended Properties=" & Chr(34) & "Excel 12.0;IMEX=1;HDR=YES;ReadOnly=1;" & Chr(34)

and with recordsets and some other code enables other combo boxes etc....
It works quite fine... but is this the right way??

Then, when I've selected my component I will press the "OK" button to write data on my sheet, but I cannot do this with previos connection, and I have to set another one with this code:

Private Sub BTN_ok_Click()
closeRS
closeRS2