PDA

View Full Version : Two tables processing together



Mr Doubtfire
10-11-2005, 04:19 PM
I have two tables with the following format.
Tbl1 col1 with 20 characters, col2 with 50 characters.
data for Tb1 are
AA 111
BB 222
CC 333
Tbl2 col1 with 10 characters, col2 with 30 characters and col3 with 5 characters.
data for Tb2 are
aa 1000 VBAX1
bb 2000 VBAX2
cc 3000 VBAX3

I would like to print them like this
AA 111
aa 1000 VBAX1
BB 222
bb 2000 VBAX2
CC 333
cc 3000 VBAX3
The above example is displaying rows (continously with no line or gap in between rows) with two formats. (please note that I need them to be tabularized):help

Any idea?
Thank you.

fumei
10-11-2005, 04:35 PM
Uh...you come up with the darndest things.

Different formats???? What the heck do you measn by that? Do you mean:

row1(Table1) - say Arial, 12 pt, left justified
row1(Table2) - say Times Roman, 11 pt, centered (or centred perhaps)
row2(Table1) - say Arial, 12 pt, blah blah
row2(Table2) - say Times Roman, 11 pt, more blah blah
etc etc.

Is that what you mean by format?

Mr Doubtfire
10-11-2005, 05:06 PM
Yes.
Each row of the tables has different number of columns and size.
Thank you.
Posibble?

fumei
10-11-2005, 10:31 PM
Possible...but very very ugly, and would take a great deal of work.

You still have not quite the ability to fully deliver specs.

OK, the rows have different number of columns and size.

But does EVERY row have differences? Row1(Table1) is diofferent from Row2 - that is Row1(Table2), but does the next row from Table1 - Row2(Table2)...but actually row3 of the new table... have different format than the Row2(Table1)? Or is is TWO different format (from TWO tables), but each row from the specifed table have the same format. Or is REALLY - as you state

"Each row of the tables has different number of columns and size."

You state it, but pardon my reluctance to accept it as correct...uh, is this in Fact correct?

You may think I am being extraordinaryly fussy, but it is precisely these details than make fine, clean, neat code.

Mr Doubtfire
10-12-2005, 05:50 AM
"Each row of the tables has different number of columns and size."
Should be intepreted as
Tbl1 row1
Tbl2 row1
Tbl1 row2
Tbl2 row2
..
They follow a pattern.
Thanks.

fumei
10-12-2005, 06:21 AM
Sigh.....yes, I understand that, and in fact posted precisely that. However, I asked a further question....and I will ask again.

An aside "They follow a pattern." Gee, let us make some test examples.

Tbl1 row1 - format = Arial font, 100 pts, Bold(True), Italics(False)
Tbl2 row1 - format = Bleech font, 50 pts, Bold(False), Italics(True)
Tbl1 row2 - format = Arial font, 99 pts, Bold(False), Italics(True)
Tbl2 row2 - format = Bleech font, 51 pts, Bold(True), Italics(False)
Tbl1 row3 - format = Arial font, 98 pts, Bold(True), Italics(False)
Tbl2 row3 - format = Bleech font, 52 pts, Bold(False), Italics(True)

The above "follows a pattern". Is this the "pattern" you are talking about? How do I know what the "pattern" is?

Yes, it was clear from the start that you want to alternate rows from two different tables. Understood.

My question was - and here it is again - and maybe, gosh, i will quote you - again:

"Each row of the tables has a different number of columns and size."

Are the rows in the table different? I reason I ask - again - is that statement can be interpreted...because you do NOT state it clearly, and I am sorry...again...to be fussy, but you have to be precise with this stuff....

Table 1 Row1 - format: font = Arial 1,000,000 pts; 3 columns
Table 1 Row2 - format: fornt = Bleech 2 pts, Underline, 5 columns
Table 1 Row3 - format: font = WingDing, .0006 pts, Bold, 2 columns
Table 1 Row4 - format: font = Times Toman, 66.6 pts, Italics, 16 columns
Table 1 Row5 - format: font = HowdyDoody, 1 pts, 30 columns

If you look at the above - if I may quote you again - "Each row of the tables has different number of columns and size."

And it does. So again - are the rows from each table different?

Mr Doubtfire
10-12-2005, 06:36 AM
Thank you again.
Rows of the same table (Tbl1) have the same size and number of columns.
My destination would be
Tbl1 row1
Tbl2 row1
Tbl3 row1
Tbl3 row2
Tbl3 row3
Tbl3 row4

Tbl2 row2
Tbl3 row5
Tbl3 row6
Tbl3 row7
Tbl3 row8
..
..
..

The rows are appended one after another with no "gap" between.