PDA

View Full Version : Excel Search Function

npomo
06-11-2016, 03:21 PM
Hi All,

I'm new to advance Excel functions and I'm trying to learn, but so far I've been unable to solve this problem. Essentially, I want to create a personal database full of instruction manuals. The first page of the Excel Worksheet will show the user six radio buttons that pertain to the category of instruction (car, woodwork, painting, etc.) The user chooses one of the radio buttons and proceeds to input a search term, like "chair" and presses the "search command button" to execute the search.

Basically, I need help with the formula/coding for the search button. It must incorporate the search term and the chosen radio button. Does anyone have any idea how to do this? Any help would be much appreciated!

SamT
06-11-2016, 09:42 PM
Personally,I would use a VBA UserForm instead of a Worksheet Form.

Planning ahead, I would want to be able to add images to the buttons, for that purpose,and others, I would use CommandButtons instead of OptionButtons.

you can use a TextBox to enter a search term, but a ComboBox both lets the User select from a list, (call it the Top Ten,) or enter a new term.

The Category CommandButtons, cmdCar, cmdWoodWorking, cmdPainting,etc can load the cboSearchList ComboBox with their own custom Top Ten List.

If your Instruction manuals are organized hierarchically, well ComboBoxes can have more than one column, but only show the columns you want.

If cboSearchList becomes cboChapters with Column1 visible and containing a list of chapter titles, and Column2 hidden and containing the list of Chapter locations, cmdSearch becomes cmdGoTo.

And again cboChapters_Change code can load predefined custom lists into cboSections, and cboSections can have it's own GoTo code.

In this schema, the User experience is
Click a Category CommandButton, select a Chapter, click cmdGoTo. Read the Chapter.
OR