PDA

View Full Version : Loop to match headers on seperatesheets, copy data below, return and paste in header

Mww144
06-26-2016, 05:53 AM
I have a master sheet with specific headers which information I need. I have about 7 sheets with random headers with subsequent data. I only need certain headers with their data in the master sheet. When new data is entered in to the sheets the vba will match the headers, copy the data and paste it in the master sheet.

It would clear all the data each time in the master sheet and just copy and paste all the data in a loop.

I tried to used a counter and index the headers with numbers, and identify the headers of interest on the sheets with same numbers.

I want to index and match these in the loop. Match i=1 in master to a indexed range in other sheets, return the cell location, copy down below that cell location, and return to the master and paste in that column in the last free cell. If there is no i=1 in the indexed range, skip to the next i step1

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I am not in front of my computer so do not have my code I have been trying but will post it shortly. Thanks in advance!

offthelip
06-26-2016, 03:36 PM
one way which you could do this quite easily is to create named ranges on the data sheets which have the same name as the headers on your master sheet. Then you can loop through the data sheets you can pick up the data for each master column by using the header name as the range name.
Note: Named ranges do have some restrictions on the syntax, but there are way round this.

Mww144
06-26-2016, 04:51 PM
one way which you could do this quite easily is to create named ranges on the data sheets which have the same name as the headers on your master sheet. Then you can loop through the data sheets you can pick up the data for each master column by using the header name as the range name.
Note: Named ranges do have some restrictions on the syntax, but there are way round this.