PDA

View Full Version : Deleting and Adding new Chart Using VBA

rodell
06-28-2016, 09:17 AM
I am working on a product to generate a monthly status update. I have to include this in a monthly report so what I am trying to do is delete the last chart and replace it with a new chart when the end of the month rolls around. I am fairly new to VBA so I don't have all the detailed indepth knowledge as you might see from my code. I have been able to delete the prior months chart but cannot get it to insert the new chart in the format I had for the deleted one. I recorded my macro initially and saved the chart as a template and tried to code it to grab the template and update my data. When I saved it, I saved as was (Chart 1) and assumed this would be what I needed to call it when updating my old data with the new chart. I keep getting Run time Error 91 When attempting to Apply Chart Template. I cannot figure it out and I don't understand most of what others are saying on google, especially when I recorded the macro the first time and it never added any code similar to what others are saying it needs. Here is my code if anyone can look at it and tell me where I am going wrong.

Sub CreateGraph2()
'
' CreateGraph2 Macro
'
'
Application.ScreenUpdating = False
On Error Resume Next
ActiveSheet.ChartObjects.Delete
On Error GoTo 0

Range("D11:K15").Select
ActiveChart.ApplyChartTemplate ("A:\Governance\Compliance\ASB Documents\Chart1.crtx")
'ActiveSheet.Shapes.AddChart.Select
'ActiveChart.ChartType = xlCylinderColStacked100
ActiveChart.SetSourceData Source:=Range("'Update Browser Stats'!$D$11:$K$15")
ActiveChart.Axes(xlCategory).Select
ActiveChart.Axes(xlCategory).CategoryType = xlCategoryScale
ActiveChart.ChartArea.Select
ActiveSheet.Shapes("Chart1.").IncrementLeft -181.5
ActiveSheet.Shapes("Chart1.").IncrementTop 42.75
ActiveSheet.Shapes("Chart1.").ScaleWidth 1.4479166667, msoFalse, _
msoScaleFromTopLeft