PDA

View Full Version : Create macro to run a boilerplate memo, pause for input and then continue running

dewachter
07-16-2016, 07:30 PM
A long time ago in Wordperfect, I was able to create macros that would run boilerplate text, pause for user input and upon using enter would continue with the rest of the boiler plate. The language is quite repetitive and I would like to create a macro or VBA in Word where the user would launch the macro from the menu and the macro would enter some lines of text into the document. It would then pause and prompts the user to insert their own variable text (with use of the InputBox). After entering the variable, the macro would continue running until the next variable needed to be entered and again stop for user input.

I am extremely new at VBA for Word but have some basic knowledge of macros.

I have several boilerplate memorandums that need to be generated where there are several variables that can be entered by the user. For example

I, (fill in first and last name), was scheduled to work at (fill in name of the business), located at (fill in the address) on (fill in the day of the week), (fill in the month) (fill in the date), (fill in the year) between (fill in start time in military time) and (fill in end time in military time). I completed the assignment and worked (enter number of hours worked) hours.

Thank you,

(enter first and last name)
(enter title/position)

Any input or suggestion would be helpful. Also if there is a simple reference work that I could access for research I would welcome the suggestion

Dirk

jec1
07-16-2016, 07:49 PM
Hi,

You really don't need a macro. You could use Content Controls to create a memo template. You could also use legacy fields.

I attach a very simple memo using Content Controls for Date and Picture. You can have author dropdowns and much more.

You should search Content Controls - there are some good articles on how to use them.

Just a suggestion.

Jen

gmayor
07-16-2016, 08:44 PM