PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Dynamic Array using Redim Preserve VS large static array?

vegard_fv
07-29-2016, 08:43 AM
Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to VBA and starting to get the advantages of using arrays. Today I made a solution that does the job perfectly, but I am wandering if it is the "right" or "best practice" way (programaticly) to do it.

As you can see by the code example below, my code makes two arrays. One to put the raw data in, and one for results. So every time my search criteria is matched, I make the ReDim Preserve statement to Dim my result-array +1. Is this faster than just dimension a big array to start with, lets say 100.000?

Or is it some other way to solve this that would be faster and more correctly? In other program languages arrays is dynamicly "by default" - but this does not seem to be the case with VBA, or am I wrong? Would love to get some feedback! :broom:

Here's my code:

Sub SendSomeDataToResultArray()
Dim arr()
Dim counter As Integer
'Sets range to selection, checks for number of items, Redim, and then feeds it into a raw data array using the Range-object
Set Rng = Selection

ant = Rng.Count
ReDim arr(ant)
arr = Rng.Value

'Declare an array nr. 2 for the results
Dim ResultArr()

'sets the counter variable to zero
counter = 0

'Looping through the raw data array
For col = 1 To UBound(arr, 2)
For row = 1 To UBound(arr, 1)

'Search criteria, and everytime the search criterias match, ReDim and Preserve the ResultArray, and feed the match into the new available spot in the ResultArray
If InStr(arr(row, col), "Batman") > 0 Then
counter = counter + 1
ReDim Preserve ResultArr(counter)
ResultArr(counter) = arr(row, col) & "Leverandørnavn: " & arr(row + 1, col)
End If

Next row
Next col

SamT
07-29-2016, 09:54 AM
For your reading pleasure

Sub SendSomeDataToResultArray()
Dim arr()
Dim ResultArr()
Dim counter As Integer

With Selection
arr = .Value
ReDim ResultArr(.Rows.Count * .Columns.Count) 'Very Large array