PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED:] Need to determine if footnote reference exists

johnwangel
09-01-2016, 09:26 AM
Hello,
I'm a newbie to this forum, so this is my first post.

I am trying to write a macro that determines if the first "character" in a footnote (or endnote) is a "footnote reference" character.

The problem I'm trying to fix is that often the Word user deletes that first character, or sometimes it is there, but the "Footnote Reference" character style is not applied. In the first case, I would like to insert a reference, in the second case, I would like to apply the proper character style.

But I am unable to figure out what test I can do to determine if that character is actually a "reference" or if it's just a regular character.

Any ideas what I could use to figure that out?

Here's the code I have:

If {NEED THE TEST HERE TO INDICATE IT IS A REFERENCE} And Selection.Characters(1).Style <> "Endnote Reference" Then Selection.Style = "Endnote Reference"
Else If {NEED TEST HERE TO INDICATE IT IS NOT A REFERENCE} Then
Selection.Collapse wdCollapseStart
Selection.InsertCrossReference ReferenceType:=wdRefTypeEndnote, referencekind:=wdEndnoteNumber, referenceitem:=n
End If

Thanks for any suggestions!
John

gmaxey
09-01-2016, 05:41 PM
Perhaps something like this:

Sub ScratchMacro()
'A basic Word macro coded by Greg Maxey
Dim oFN As Footnote
Dim oRng As Range
For Each oFN In Footnotes
Set oRng = oFN.Range.Characters.First
On Error GoTo Err_Limit
Do Until AscW(oRng) = 13 Or oRng.Start = ActiveDocument.StoryRanges(wdFootnotesStory).Start
oRng.MoveStart wdCharacter, -1
oRng.MoveEnd wdCharacter, -1
Err_ReEntry:
Loop
If AscW(oRng) = 13 Then
oRng.MoveStart wdCharacter, 1
oRng.MoveEnd wdCharacter, 1
End If
If AscW(oRng) = 2 Then
oRng.Style = "Footnote Reference"
Else
oRng.Collapse wdCollapseStart
oFN.Reference.Copy
oRng.Paste
End If
Next
lbl_Exit:
Exit Sub
Err_Limit:
Resume Err_ReEntry
End Sub

johnwangel
09-02-2016, 06:53 AM