PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Need help to transform one spreadsheet into another form of spreadsheet.

datvu
09-07-2016, 12:36 PM
Hello,
I am new to VBA and I am trying my best to learn from it. So here is my problem. I work as an intern staff accountant and I have to upload a lot of general journal transactions from a excel report into quickbook manually. I figure out I can do this more efficiently if I can transform the excel report into the quickbook format and upload the whole batch into quick book.

So on the attached file there are three tab. The "Transactions" tab is the report I received. I want to transfer this into the format of the "quickbook" tab. So basically I want to transfer the values in Settlement Date, Type, Description and Amount USD from "Transactions" tab to DATE, MEMO, ACCNT, and AMOUNT in "Quickbook" tab. Note that the Description is different from ACCNT name, so I have a chart in tab 3 "Name Chart" where you can link the Description and turn it into according ACCNT name. The value in AMOUNT is times negative 1 of Amount USD.

In short, using the "Transaction" tab and the "Chart Name" tab, how can I use them to generate the "Quick book" tab. It is a little complicate and that is why I need your help. Thank you so much.

Paul_Hossler
09-07-2016, 01:07 PM
I assume that you really want a CSV or some kind of flat file to import into QuickBooks and not a new worksheet?

!TRNS,TRNSID,TRNSTYPE,DATE,ACCNT,CLASS,AMOUNT,DOCNUM,MEMO
!SPL,SPLID,TRNSTYPE,DATE,ACCNT,CLASS,AMOUNT,DOCNUM,MEMO
!ENDTRNS,,,,,,,,
TRNS,,GENERAL JOURNAL,9/12/2016,Investments - Private Equity:J P Morgan - Private Equity:AG OPP Whole Loan Select,,"110,000.00",,Capital Call
SPL,,GENERAL JOURNAL,9/12/2016,Investments - Private Equity:J P Morgan - Private Equity:Cash - Brokerage Q Account,,"-110,000.00",,
ENDTRNS,,,,,,,,
TRNS,,GENERAL JOURNAL,9/1/2016,Investments - Private Equity:J P Morgan - Private Equity:J C Flowers III,,"-22,195.84",,Cash Distribution