PDA

View Full Version : Retention Report Automation

jdautel
09-09-2016, 08:45 AM
Hey guy's I'm working on creating an automated process of creating retention reports every month. I've been using VBA for about 2 months now and have no prior coding experience. This problem is proving a bit challenging though.

The way it works is like this, there's two columns (one is exported from QuickBooks, the other is from the last months retention report):
xx x
x y
y z
z a
a b
b c
c d
e ee

We want to make the columns match in alphabetical order and include all entries from each column. So it would look something like this:

x x
xx xx
y y
z z
a a
b b
c c
d d
e e
ee ee

I created a code to insert everything from the right column into the left column and it works. But it ignores what needs to be inserted from the left column into the right column, it also runs for freaking ever because it inserts cells down so many times it runs to the 17,000 line in excel (our retention report only has like 300 properties to give you an idea of how inefficient that is)

Option Explicit

Sub RetentionReport()
Dim cell As Range
For Each cell In Range("A2:A242")
If cell.Value = Range(cell.Address).Offset(0, 6).Value Then
Else
Range(cell.Address).Offset(0, 6).Copy
cell.Insert shift:=xlDown
End If
Next cell

End Sub

Any ideas?

SamT
09-09-2016, 09:39 AM
Any ideas? As soon as the first insert occurs, there will be no more matching cells so every x cell gets inserted into the xx column.

Issues:
Even though both lists are sorted alphabetically, they are not paired up.
x and xx do not correlate to left and right, like Cell and Cell.Offset(, 6) do. I will assume that x = Cell and xx = the offset.
You haven't said which list is complete. I will assume that both lists contain some values that the other does not.

Assuming that you want Column A to be the complete list: Presorting is not needed.

Sub AddToA()
Dim Cel As Range
Dim Found As Range

'Uncomment next line after testing