View Full Version : Solved: insert query
gibbo1715
10-20-2005, 01:52 PM
Can anyone tell me how to amend my query please to account for the fact that my first field is an autonumber
Thanks
Gibbo
strSQL = "INSERT INTO tbl_Test VALUES ('" & _
Me.TextBox1 & "', '" & _
Me.TextBox2 & "', '" & _
Me.TextBox3 & "', '" & _
Me.TextBox4 & "', '" & _
Me.TextBox5 & "')"
cn.Execute strSQL
xCav8r
10-20-2005, 02:29 PM
Add the column names to your SQL statement for which you're inserting values, but omit the field with the autonumber. It'll be incremented automatically. The same applies for any columns that have default values that you don't want to override. Example:
CREATE TABLE tblExample
(
lngAutoNumber AUTOINCREMENT,
strFirstName TEXT(30),
strLastName TEXT(50),
lngNumber INT
);
INSERT INTO tblExample (strFirstName, strLastName, lngNumber)
VALUES ('John', 'Smith', 66);
Li'l helper routine:
Option Compare Database
Option Explicit
'Long names
Function SingleEnquotedString(StringToEnquote As String) As String
SingleEnquotedString = "'" & StringToEnquote & "'"
End Function
'Abbreviations
Function EnqStr1(Data As String) As String
EnqStr1 = "'" & Data & "'"
End Function
Sub DoStuff()
Dim strSQL As String
strSQL = "INSERT INTO tblExample (strLastName, strFirstName, lngNumber)" _
& vbNewLine & "VALUES (" _
& EnqStr1(Me.TextBox1.Value) & "," & vbNewLine _
& EnqStr1(Me.TextBox2.Value) & "," & vbNewLine _
& EnqStr1(Me.TextBox3.Value) & ");"
End Sub
gibbo1715
10-20-2005, 03:58 PM
Thats looks really good
I ll have a play tomorrow
Thanks for looking
Gibbo
gibbo1715
10-20-2005, 03:59 PM
Also can you tell me the meaning of Option Compare Database as its a new one on me
Cheers
Gibbo
xCav8r
10-20-2005, 08:06 PM
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;98227
HTH! :)
gibbo1715
10-21-2005, 12:41 AM
Thanks works great
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.5 Copyright © 2025 vBulletin Solutions Inc. All rights reserved.