PDA

View Full Version : Search for similar paragraphs in several docs

Prpikachu
12-06-2016, 02:41 AM
Hi,

I am quite new to VBA and I would like to ask for some tips with this.

I have a Word doc with a single paragraph. I would like to search for similar paragraphs in all the docs in a directory and copy them in the first doc below the original paragraph.

The difficulty is searching for not exactly the same paragraph, but similar ones. Ideally, I would like to establish a match percentage. There may be some different words within the other paragraphs. Infact, if the paragraphs are identical, I do not need to copy them.

Any idea on how to approach this, please?

Thank you in advance!

gmaxey
12-06-2016, 05:22 AM
It would be a lengthy process even for VBA IMHO. First your would need to establish what the process should consider similar and then start culling out from the easiest to the most difficult. For example if a tested paragraph is < 5 words or >5 words the standard paragraph, regardless of other similarities, then it is not similar so skip it an move to the next. How does word choice determine similarity How does word order determine similarity?

Prpikachu
12-08-2016, 02:22 AM
You are right. I am starting to think about another process: maybe, once an occurrence is found, searching only within the relevant paragraph for sets of two words and calculating the match percentage.

But, in the meantime, I am trying it in a more primitive way: I select a relevant part of the paragraph and search for it. The problem is that it seems that I am struggling with the basics here. I have this code, which is a mix of others I have found. It work well, expect for the fact that the search seems to be wrongly performed: it just pastes blank paragraphs. I am not even sure if it is really searching for the selected sentence (it seems that it is not searching through the whole document and just expends the initial selection (nothing) and pastes it in the other document.