PDA

View Full Version : Search data in 4 Contiguous cells within a selected area

binar
12-06-2016, 08:04 PM
Fellow Forum Members,
How can a get Excel 2013 to search 4 numbers in 4 contiguous cells within a range I select? For example in the graphic below I want Excel to SEARCH for the numbers 4,11,33,40 (in that order) which is located on Row6. In addition, the SEARCH needs to only be performed within a range I select which in the example below is the area colored in YELLOW.

I'm not a VBA expert, but my guess is such a search can be done using a VBA script. I very much hope someone out there can post the VBA script that can perform such a search because I don't have the coding skills to create such a VBA script from scratch. In addition, if there is a way to perform such a complex search using a formula I would very much appreciate getting such a formula posted in this thread. Thanks in advance for any help.

Leith Ross
12-06-2016, 08:49 PM
Hello binar,

Is the search only by rows (horizontally)?

binar
12-07-2016, 10:42 AM
Hello binar,

Is the search only by rows (horizontally)?

Leith, thanks for your post. I can understand how my use of the word "Row" can confuse things. Below is a description of the customized search I'm seeking for Excel 2013 to make written in the most logical way possible I can think of:

"In the seclected region of cells find the 4 horizontal contiguous cells that contain numbers matching 4,11,33,40."

I'm surprised Excel does not offer such a search capability right out of the box because not all searches necessarily target data contained in a single cell. Sometimes one needs to be able to search a series of contiguous data like I'm trying to do. If you or anyone out there can post a solution to this problem it will be greatly appreciated. Thanks again.

Kenneth Hobs
12-07-2016, 11:03 AM