PDA

View Full Version : Macro to count repeat occurrences from closed WB and paste total counts in new WB

Silver
12-10-2016, 03:42 AM
Hello All,

Exel beginner here.

There are 2 workbooks TestA and TestB. Both of them will be stored in different folders.

TestA has sheets named as per dates of month, like 1,2,3,4,5... and so on. On each sheet, column B will be updated with code L7. This workbook will always remain closed.

Macro will be run from TestB workbook. It has a sheet named Total which will reflect path of TestA in cell F2. It will also reflect sheet names of TestA one below the other from cell A3 onwards. Column B is were macro will update total counts of code L7.

What the macro should do -

Each time the macro is run, it will update column B with total counts of code L7 against each sheet name. Macro will do this by referring to path mentioned in column F. (Refer snapshot for clarity)

Note - I would like to use path reference as there is possibility of the data being pulled from different workbooks.

Any assistance will be greatly appreciated.

p45cal
12-10-2016, 04:05 AM
Save us a bit of time and guessing; supply 2 workbooks (or at the very least TestA) with some semi-realistic data in.

Silver
12-10-2016, 08:24 AM
Sorry.... kindly find attached workbooks TestA and TestB

p45cal
12-10-2016, 10:09 AM
Does the path in F2 include the filename?
That is, does it contain the likes of:
C:\Users\Public\Documents\vbaExpress57976
or:
C:\Users\Public\Documents\vbaExpress57976\
or:
C:\Users\Public\Documents\vbaExpress57976\TestA.xlsb
?

The macro will work by putting formulae in the cells. The macro can leave those formulae there - they will be updated everytime the sheet is calculated, or the macro can replace the formulae with their calculated results as a plain number. This latter will not update without running the macro again.