PDA

View Full Version : Insert row automatically?

n00b82
12-12-2016, 02:48 PM
So after hours and hours of searching, I feel I'm only scratching the surface of my problem. Full disclaimer to start - I'm completely new at this and self-taught, so please bear with me if I ask this question poorly.

Here's the scenario: Within a worksheet I have a table created that is linked to an Access database, that inserts a cell of information (general numbers) as the database gets updated by users. The general numbers are generated (by a different program) according to dates/times/number of incidents, and are sorted in the worksheet in chronological order (and need to be). I have subsequent cells in the same row that are then manually filled in with information that corresponds to the linked column. If a number is entered out of the chronological order (number 444 was entered after 555), it is still inserted appropriately into the linked column, however, the adjacent columns do not insert a blank row, or shift down the information to stay aligned.

I'm looking for a solution, whether it be VBA or otherwise, to solve this issue. The data is updated upon opening, if that matters.

p45cal
12-12-2016, 03:16 PM
If a number is entered out of the chronological order (number 444 was entered after 555), it is still inserted appropriately into the linked columnIs there some code which does this? I suspect so, in which case we'd need to see it so that it can be tweaked.

n00b82
12-12-2016, 06:22 PM
Is there some code which does this? I suspect so, in which case we'd need to see it so that it can be tweaked.

The numbers are reflections of dates and times, and Access reads and sorts the information based off of that, which I've assumed is just a 1:1 display in excel.