PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Copy first 5 characters of Course Name to Column A

LutonBarry
12-19-2016, 12:41 AM
Morning folks and a Happy Christmas to you all.

I have written some rudimentary code on the attached that achieves most of what I want it to, don't laugh I'm self taught:laugh2:.

The element I'm stuck on is copying the first 5 letters of the bold lines that contains the Course names into column A. Then copying the new course name when that changes, in this example in cell C15 and C40.

Once that is done I then manually delete from column C the Course name and the blank lines in Col C.

The rest of the code sorts it by race time and inserts a space between each race.

I enclose my worksheet and a copy of what it finally looks like.

The initial data is from the tips section of At The Races website.

p45cal
12-19-2016, 10:23 AM
The following is a one-step process after you've copied the stuff in the website pages into a fresh sheet.
Note the following:
Paste into Column A of a fresh sheet
Make sure this sheet is the active sheet when you run the macro blah
The data is mostly gleaned from the hyperlinks, so two things:

You don't need the racecourse name at the top (although it doesn't matter if you do copy it), you can copy just the races (this is because the racecourse data is within the hyperlinks).
When you paste into the sheet, don't overwrite any previously copied hyperlinks. (The code expects the hyperlinks to be in Column A.)
The code creates a new sheet from scratch every time, for your final data.

Sub blah()
Set OrigSht = ActiveSheet
LR = OrigSht.Cells(Rows.Count, "A").End(xlUp).Row
Set NewSht = Sheets.Add(after:=Sheets(Sheets.Count))
DestRow = 0
With NewSht
For Each cll In OrigSht.Range("A1:A" & LR).Cells
If cll.Hyperlinks.Count > 0 Then
*** = Split(cll.Hyperlinks(1).Address, "/")
yyy = Split(cll.Value, ":")
If LCase(***(3)) = "racecard" Then
DestRow = DestRow + 1
Set Destn = .Cells(DestRow, "A")