PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] VBA Code to Match US Region to the State that is entered

pawcoyote
01-19-2017, 01:39 PM
Hi,

I am very new to VBA and was wondering if there was a way to do the following.

When entering a State Name in cell Y7 it will put the Region it belongs to in cell AD7

I have a column with States. I am trying to put a VBA formula in another cell to look at that column, if the state is Washington, California, or Oregon, I want the result to be "West". If it's another range of states, it might return "Central", etc.Basically trying to tie state names for which region they are in.

Paul_Hossler
01-19-2017, 01:55 PM
Easiest way is to put

=IFERROR(VLOOKUP(Y7,States!$A:$B,2,FALSE),"Not Found")

in AD7, and use a 'data base' sheet like in the attachment (named 'States')

Or were you looking for something more complicated?

pawcoyote
01-20-2017, 08:13 AM
Easiest way is to put

Thank you I will try this...

pawcoyote
01-23-2017, 07:49 AM
Easiest way is to put

Hi Paul, that is what I want to do thanks. IT works great, now how would I put that into a VBA script to run automatically when I enter a State into A3 and so on?

mike7952
01-23-2017, 08:15 AM
Using Pauls uploaded workbook add the states to column A on the Example sheet and run macro

Sub abc()
Dim i As Long
Dim rng As Range, cell As Range
With Worksheets("states")
arr = .Range("a1").CurrentRegion.Value
End With
With Worksheets("Example")
Set rng = .Range("a1", Cells(Rows.Count, "a").End(xlUp))
End With
With CreateObject("scripting.dictionary")
For i = 1 To UBound(arr)
.Item(arr(i, 1)) = arr(i, 2)
Next
For Each cell In rng
If .exists(cell.Value) Then
cell.Offset(, 1) = .Item(cell.Value)
Else
cell.Offset(, 1) = "Not Found"
End If
Next
End With
End Sub

See attached workbook: 18103

Paul_Hossler
01-23-2017, 08:33 AM
It can be done using Worksheet Events, but you'll need to be a little more specific as to cells

E.g. in #1 you said state in Y7 and region in AD7

In #4 you said state in A3