PDA

View Full Version : VBA to search in sheet1, match data in sheet2, return search results in sheet1

jake1124
01-24-2017, 04:29 PM
Hey guys!

I'm a beginner with basic java coding and a huge passion to learn. I have been practicing and learning as I go but I can't get this macro to work... if it's even possible. I'm sure there's a much easier way to do it so I'm looking for help :)

Macro Intention - Match the 2 criteria from sheet 1, from the 2 criteria on sheet 2 then return matching/not matching if the third criteria is true
In sheet 2 find the Row on Column A that contains "Code". Take note of that Row

In sheet 1 look at Column C - Visit Name THEN in sheet 2 Look at Row(Code), Column X(Visit Names). Find matching visit name. Mark down that column
In sheet 2 look at Row(Code), Column + 1 - Procedures. Mark down that range
In sheet 1 look at Column D - Procedure Name THEN in sheet 2 Look at Range(Procedures). Row + 1 until we find partially matching procedure name (as it wont be exact). Mark down that range
In sheet 1 look at Column E - Cost THEN in sheet 2 find the corresponding Row for correct procedure and column for correct visit. If they match then go to sheet 1: Range "I2" = "Matching" if exact, "Not matching" if not
Repeat for each line

Refer to the images to reference an example of what sheet1 and sheet 2 look like

Sub SearchingForValue()

Dim i As Integer
Dim ws1 As Worksheet: Set ws1 = ThisWorkbook.Sheets("Sheet1")
Dim ws2 As Worksheet: Set ws2 = ThisWorkbook.Sheets("Sheet2")

Dim sRow As Integer, sCol As Integer
Dim sRng As Range

Set sRng = Range("C2")
sRow = sRng.Row
sCol = sRng.Column

Dim fRow As Integer, fCol As Integer
Dim fRng As Range

Set fRng = Range("A1")
fRow = fRng.Row
fCol = fRng.Column

Dim nRow As Integer, nCol As Integer
Dim nRng As Range

Dim jRow As Integer, jCol As Integer
Dim jRng As Range

Dim tRow As Integer, tCol As Integer
Dim tRng As Range

Dim qRow As Integer, qCol As Integer
Dim qRng As Range

Set qRng = Range("I2")