PDA

View Full Version : Multiple Concatinations to Equal a single Location

Nwtech75
01-27-2017, 12:17 AM
Greetings all,
My name is Vince. I'm new to the community. I have a beginner to intermediate knowledge of VBA and Access. I am working Access 2007-2010, and seem to have hit a bit of a knowledge block. I'm still learning so please be as detailed as you can in your explanations. I will be as detailed as I can in my description.

I am working with an unbound form to control when and how records are added to the table. I have included an image of the form that I have created. This is just a functional layout, I'll clean it up and finalize locations later, right now I just want the form to accomplish the goals. I you look at the form, the label "Location" is actually a 6 part input. In the Code they are named and listed sequentially from LOC to SLOT. Because of the way we organize our parts, this was actually the simplest way to do it. While working on making sure the form would do what I wanted it to, it occurred to me that I needed to prevent more than one part from being installed in the same location. What I am attempting to do is to run a check for records in the table that already contain the exact combination of all 6 inputs. WHERE LOC, SORT, SID, FILE, PART & SLOT all are already listed in the table. Now I know that this is most likely some sort of concatenation, but I honestly have absolutely no idea where to start the Dim's, or how to do the check. I thought maybe a DCount might do the trick, but I don't know how to measure the response. Is it possible to utilized two concatenated statements in a single DCount? I know the check will have to come before the .AddNew and I will have to build in an If Statement for any result that is >0. Perhaps if someone could help me figure out how to concatenate all 6 inputs into a single request string and do the same for the table output I might be able to go the rest of the way on my own.