PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED:] Need help with an vba macro for excel that adding an 0 in a number combination

pfr
02-10-2017, 11:02 AM
Hi, I'm new to VBA so I need a little help with a macro.

I have an excel file with around 70 sheet (can be more or less sheets every day) and I need a macro that checking a number combination in column "G", the combination variates between 12 and 13 numbers.

What I need is an macro that simply adding an 0 as the first number if the number combination have 12 numbers and leave the numbers as they are if they already contain 13 numbers.
The data variates all from 5 rows to over 10000 rows in the sheets, so I need the macro to loop throw the entire column "G" in each sheet to the last sheet.

For example:
123412341234(should be changed to 0123412341234)
and
0123412341234 (shall the macro leave as it is because it's already containing 13 numbers)

There are a header from row 1 to 4 and the data always starts at row 5, so the macro shall start to looking for 12 numbers combinations and always add an 0 at the start of the number combination.
The macros shall only check and do the change in column G5 and down to the last product in each sheet.

Hope anyone can help me with this.

p45cal
02-10-2017, 11:52 AM
If the cells in column G are formatted 'General' then trying to add a leading zero will end up with Excel removing it again.
I'm guessing that these numbers are not numbers which you need to do maths on, and are like an account number, or some such.
How does the data get into those cells. Does the data originally have a leading zero? If the cells are formatted as Text, before the data is put there, they might keep their leading zero, and it will save you a lot of work.
Otherwise this little macro, when run, acts on the currently selected cells:
Sub blah()
Selection.NumberFormat = "@"
For Each cll In Selection
cll.Value = Format(cll.Value, "0000000000000")
Next cll
End Sub

pfr
02-10-2017, 01:51 PM