PDA

View Full Version : ActiveX Checkbox VBA Code Help

Ekphoto
02-28-2017, 02:43 PM
Hello, I am new to VBA and have a question on how to code the Active X checkboxes I'm working on. I have sheet 1 with checkboxes on it and on sheet 2 I have a list of sentences in different cells. what I want to happen is when a checkbox is checked on sheet 1 I want it to take a specific sentence from sheet 2 and put it in a "Notes" box on sheet 1. That way I can compile notes with a couple checks of some checkboxes. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

SamT
02-28-2017, 04:27 PM
Right Click one CheckBox and select View Code. This will open the VBA Editor and insert the CheckBox_Click Sub outline for that Checkbox into the Editor.

In the Editor upper right will be a Drop Down Arrow, Click the Arrow and select "Change". This will insert the CheckBox_Change Sub outline for that Checkbox into the Editor.

Put the required code in that Change sub. It will Run every time the Checkbox is Changed, whether to checked or to unchecked.

Ekphoto
03-02-2017, 06:42 AM
Thank you SamT for the outline of starting the code. I will try implementing that today. Since I am new to coding in general and VBA I don't know what function to use. Can you point me in the right direction pertaining how to write the code?

SamT
03-02-2017, 07:28 AM
Coding is all about the details.

Please provide details about what the code needs to accomplish

JKwan
03-02-2017, 07:31 AM
I think this is simpler than what you are proposing.... that's just me :_). Give this a try. Create 5 checkboxes and a textbox (with Multi-line set to TRUE) - leave as default names give the checkboxes captions of your sentences and put the code in your Sheet1 module and see if this will do

Private Sub CheckBox1_Click()
Worksheets("Sheet1").TextBox1.Text = Worksheets("Sheet1").TextBox1.Text & _
" " & _
Worksheets("Sheet1").CheckBox1.Caption & _
Chr(13)
End Sub
Private Sub CheckBox2_Click()
" " & _