PDA

View Full Version : Content control combobox

max76
04-12-2017, 10:04 AM
Hi everyone,

I'm relatively new to VBA and I need your help since I couldn't find any solution anywhere. I created a document on Word 2010 with content control comboboxes containing eachdifferent items (one has about 90 items to choose from). When the user expands the dropdown list the WHOLE screen is covered with all the entries that fit in the screen and this is not very user-friendly because the user must be able to see what's behind on the screen in order to choose the correct item.

My question is: is there a way to limit the number of displayed items (for example the first 20) when the dropdown list is collapsed?

Thank you very much in advance for your support.

Massimo

gmaxey
04-12-2017, 05:11 PM
No there is not.

max76
04-12-2017, 10:57 PM
Hi Greg,

Thank you for your prompt reply
It's really sad how Microsoft omitted a few useful features regarding content controls.

Have a nice day

Massimo

macropod
04-13-2017, 03:51 AM
If fail to see how limiting the display to 20 items (for example) - at least 19 of which won't have been selected - when the dropdown list is collapsed would be helpful or how it might be one of 'a few useful features regarding content controls'. Conversely, the ability to apply such a limit when the dropdown list is expanded might be useful on the rare occasion - but one shouldn't expect Microsoft (or any other supplier) to design everything it produces for things that would rarely be used unless its clientele has very deep pockets.

max76
04-13-2017, 04:23 AM
Hi Paul,