PDA

View Full Version : Macro to copy non-blank cells in 2 columns and paste values into first blank cells in

turkishjim
04-12-2017, 11:59 AM
Sorry: ran out of space in title. Need to paste in first blank cell in a range in another workbook. Apologies if this has been asked and answered before, but I couldn't find it.

I have a spreadsheet recording my stock, and I want to copy data from 2 columns in my invoice and paste special into the first blank row in my stock sheet.
It seems to me that I need to do the following:

Identify non-blank cells in the source range
copy these
identify the first blank cell in the target range
paste values there

I am confident with Excel but a total beginner with VBA. I suspect I might be able to find ways to do at least a couple of these steps, but even if I could I have no idea how to string things together. Any help or pointers would be much appreciated. TIA:dunno

p45cal
04-12-2017, 05:05 PM
Will both cells on a row always both be filled-in, or both blank? That is, will there ever be a blank cell and a filled-in cell on the same row in the 2 columns? Are the columns next to each other? Are the column letters the same in the destination range. Is the source range on the same sheet as the destination range.
Just a few of the questions that would instantly be answered if you were to provide a sample file.

turkishjim
04-13-2017, 03:39 AM
p45cal,

Many thanks for taking the time to reply.
If I can manage it I'll attach a sample workbook I've just cobbled together. It has 2 worksheets called invoice and stock_new: in real life stock_new is just one of the sheets on a separate workbook (always open when the invoice workbook is open).