PDA

View Full Version : Reducing the need for Multiple hardline codes

jcrain2v
05-02-2017, 02:29 PM
I have financial spreadsheet to keep track of the daily cost of a project from start to finish. Writing a code for say all the C3's was simply enough. How can I apply a macro to do this for the next 40 lines so I dont have to hardline it 44 times?

Sub updatethesum()
Dim ws As Worksheet
Dim i As Double
i = 0
For Each ws In ThisWorkbook.Worksheets
If ws.Name <> "Total" Then
i = i + ws.Range("c3")
End If
Next
Sheets("Total").Range("c3") = i
End Sub

mdmackillop
05-02-2017, 03:01 PM
Sub updatethesum()
Dim ws As Worksheet
Dim i As Double
Dim j As Long

For j = 3 To 43
i = 0
i = i + ws.Range("c" & j)
End If
Next
Sheets("Total").Range("c" & j) = i
Next j
End Sub

jcrain2v
05-02-2017, 03:14 PM
Thanks mdmackillop. I'm new to VBA. I've used a little Fortran for my graduate in civil engineering and programmed a TI89 calc that is all. What would happened it I changed double to long for i?

mdmackillop
05-02-2017, 03:21 PM
Long is an integer value so you would lose decimals, if any, from your data.

jcrain2v
05-02-2017, 03:36 PM
Okay! This spreadsheet uses whole numbers, even though given how simple it is it really wouldn't make a difference. Can I repeat this code for two more columns in the totals sheet and add say "k" and "l", adjust and add if statements accordingly? ie. k=k+ws.Range ("e"&j)

next J
next k
next l

mdmackillop
05-02-2017, 03:43 PM
An alternative to put formulae in the cells

Sub Test()
Dim x As String
x = Sheets(Sheets.Count).Name
Sheets("Total").Range("C3:C42").FormulaR1C1 = "=SUM('Sheet2:" & x & "'!RC)"
End Sub

SamT
05-02-2017, 03:57 PM
Sub Alternate_updatethesum()
Dim ws As Worksheet
Dim i As Long

With Sheets("Total")
For i = 3 To 43
.Range("C" & i) = .Range("C" & i) + ws.Range("c" & i) 'Edit to suit
.Range("D" & i) = .Range("D" & i) + ws.Range("D" & i)
.Range("E" & i) = .Range("E" & i) + ws.Range("E" & i)