PDA

View Full Version : Help a surgeon automate morning rounds, MS Word VBA

IFITFITSITFI
06-01-2017, 04:43 PM
Hello,

I am shamelessly posting in this forum because I am in a bit over my head and I need some help. I am a medical student in my surgery rotation and our team relies heavily on a document called "The List." This document is a word document that contains a table where each row represents a specific patient we are taking care of in the hospital. Unfortunately I can't post actual patient data but I've tried to attach an example of what I'm working with here. The problem is that every morning the list needs to be updated to reflect the status of all the patients prior to rounds at 6am. To do this manually requires going to the electronic medical record (EMR) and copying and, for the most part, pasting the updated information relevant to the team into the word document for each patient. This is very time consuming and mindless. In the EMR you can generate an uptodate PDF report of all patients the team is covering, and this contains much of the data in The List. What I would like to one day do is be able to generate the report, open The List, press a button and have all the fields in the list updated with data from the report. More realistically, I just want the vital signs to be updated. What I've been trying to do is simply ctrlA and copy the report to the empty pages beneath The List in its word doc, then design some macro that let's me click on the field in The List for vitals, execute macro, and have it search the pasted report for the correct patient from that row and copy and paste the vitals in to where my cursor is, with the messy pdf-to-word format cleaned up. I would then do this for each row (or this could all be done in loop) and be done in 5 minutes instead of 30. I'm sure there's a more elegant way to do this, but I just wanted to describe my goals here. This article on this site "Macro-to-find-string-and-copy-sentence-containing-string" seem