PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Need Help Wrting This. (If from list, Then, If blanks, New Column)

taylorbrewed
06-21-2017, 06:04 AM
Hi, I'm new to Excel and VBA. I'm trying to learn on my own but have yet to find a answer for a way to accomplish what I'm trying to do.

I have one sheet in column(A) I have multiple words in different cells. In my example it is names and fruits.
I want to be able to separate the words into there own separate sheet if the word appears.
I also need it to separate the words into a different column in its appropriate sheet if a blank cell is shown.

I'm attach a example excel file.

In my example in column A-

Bill

Bob

Kiwi

Hank

Harry

Fred

Bill

Apple

Kiwi

Hank

Harry

Mike

Orange

John

Fred

I need Bill, Bob, Hank, Harry, Fred to go to a sheet named 'Names" into column A - Kiwi Will go to its own separate sheet named "Fruit" in column A
Because there is a blank cell in between my information. I need to to move over a column in their appropriate sheets
Bill, Hank, Harry will go to sheets named "names" and now to column B. Apple, and Kiwi will move to Sheet "Fruit" and into column B
Mike, John Fred- Sheet "Names" Column C. Orange to sheet "Fruit" column C.

I need this to continue on for as long as possible because I don't know how much information I will have in the original sheet where all there information is in Column A.

I hope how I'm explaining this makes sense, and I'm sure will all your bright minds, someone will be able to tackle this challenge for me.

Thanks

p45cal
06-21-2017, 06:19 AM
Although it's quite easy for us humans to tell the diffrence between fruit and names. the computer hasn't a hope without complete lists of what are names and what are fruit.
I say quite easy; but it isn't necessarily that easy; what do you do with the likes of Cherry, Apple (Gyneth Paltrow daughter), Olive, Huckleberry (Finn), Kiwi, Damson, Cerise, Peach, Clementine (Churchill), all of which are names and fruit?