PDA

View Full Version : Trouble Selecting Range.

Joliet_Tech
06-29-2017, 12:06 PM
I have a macro that I wrote several years ago that works but I don't know how! Ok, yes, I am a very part-time vba coder. This script runs by entering a 5 digit number in a cell (C3) in my spreadsheet. I did not use a InputBox. It then returns an alphanumeric code associated with it. The result is in cell (D3). I am using the VLOOKUP function. The cursor ends up in the cell below the user entry cell and I want it to be returned to the original, user entry cell (C3). As I said the code functions. If I step through the code with the Debugger, I get errors. Here is my code.

Sub FindPSWD()
' This sub finds the password associated with the code entered by the user
Dim PSWD_Code As String
Dim PSWD As String
' Identify the cell that the Password Code is to be entered
PSWD_Code = "c3"
PSWD = Application.WorksheetFunction.VLookup(PSWD_Code, Sheet1.Range("F2:G10000"), 2, False)
' Move the cursor back to C3
ActiveCell.Offset(-1, 0).Select
Range("c3").Select
End Sub

mdmackillop
06-29-2017, 02:13 PM
To correct your code

Sub FindPSWD() ' This sub finds the password associated with the code entered by the user
Dim PSWD_Code
' Identify the cell that the Password Code is to be entered
PSWD_Code = Range("c3").Value
On Error Resume Next
Range("D3").Value = Application.WorksheetFunction.VLookup(PSWD_Code, Range("F2:G10000"), 2, False)
If Err.Number <> 0 Then MsgBox "Not Found"
' Move the cursor back to C3
Range("C3").Select
End Sub

To simplify use

Sub FindPW(Target) Dim PW As Range
Set PW = Sheet1.Columns(6).Find(Target)
If Not PW Is Nothing Then [D3] = PW.Offset(, 1)
Range("C3").Select
End Sub

To "automate", put this in the worksheet module. it will run when code is entered in C3

Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
Dim PW As Range
If Target.Address <> "$C$3" Then Exit Sub
Application.EnableEvents = False
Set PW = Sheet1.Columns(6).Find(Target)
If Not PW Is Nothing Then