PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Looking for help to identify matches across multiple columns

minimacro
09-16-2017, 11:40 AM
Hi,
Im a newbie with excel, but very keen to learn more so please bear with me.

I have an excel workbook with around 4000 rows of data and two sheets (simplified version uploaded). I have 1 main sheet (Sheet1 - Names) in which I want to cross reference delimited company names with (Sheet2 - Companies).

I need to search a string in 3 columns of key words then in the 4th column return the result (search return either name ID or "no match")
i.e.

Sheet 1 - Names

Name1
Name2
Name3

TEST
CASE
HERE

THE
WHITE
COMPANY

RALPH
LAUREN
LTD

Search row 2 TEST CASE HERE In Sheet 2 - companies, and return the company ID 1 to show a match.

Company_ID
COMPANY1
COMPANY2
COMPANY3

TEST
CASE
HERE

THE
WHITE
COMPANY

RALPH
LAUREN
LTD

GENERAL
ELECTRIC
LTD

In column E of the Names Sheet I have set up a Index Match = =IFERROR(INDEX($A:$A,MATCH(B2&C2&D2,Companies!$A:$A=B2&Companies!$B:$B=C2&Companies!$C:$C=D2,0),1),"no match")

However there is a problem and the search does not return the ID I'm expecting, instead it is saying there is no match - what am I doing wrong?

I also tried to turn this into a VBA - to again no success. I'm really struggling and would be very grateful for some direction.

Thank you,

MiniMacro

Leith Ross
09-16-2017, 12:29 PM
Hello minimacro,

Copy this formula to "D2" on "Names" and drag it down.

=IF(COUNTIF($A2:$C2, "<>"),IF(SUMPRODUCT(--(Names!$A2=Companies!$B2),--(Names!$B2=Companies!$C2),--(Names!$C2=Companies!$D2)),Companies!$A2,"No Match"),"")

minimacro
09-16-2017, 01:33 PM
Thanks so much for your prompt reply!! Sorry I didn't mention - the names in the Company sheet are in a random order so
sheet 1 (Names) items appear as:

Name1
Name2
Name3

TEST
CASE
HERE

THE
WHITE
COMPANY

RALPH
LAUREN
LTD

WALMART
PHARMACY
LTD

however in sheet two (companies):

COMPANY1
COMPANY2
COMPANY3

RALPH
LAUREN
LTD

TEST
CASE
HERE

UBER
LTD