PDA

View Full Version : HELP: VBA Listbox - highlight selected states of AU and display some basic info

09-26-2017, 01:42 AM
First of all, glad to join this community! I'm new to VBA and really want to grow with your help.

I am thinking abouta very simple interface in Excel but wondering how to do it. Are there some examples to refer to? Or could you help to explain how. Great thanks in advance!!!

(I am using AU as an example)

1. On the LHS, the map of Australia contains 8 ungrouped images. Each state/territory is a separate image. I want to link these 8 images with their names in the listbox1 in the upper middle.

2. When clicking one of state names in listbox1, its image on LHS will change the fill color to Green. When clicking another state name, the previous selected one will change back to the original fill color and the newly selected one will change the fill color to Green.

3. When clicking one of state name, its information and flag will also show in the blank area on RHS.

4. The listbox2 in the lower middle is to choose which content of the selected state to display - General Intro? Population? Population growth? Flag?

Thanks,
Felix

Interface:

Data:

mdmackillop
09-26-2017, 04:19 AM
Here a start. I've changed your listbox to an ActiveX listbox. Easier to work with.

09-26-2017, 08:12 AM
Hi mdmackillop, MANY THANKS for the coding and changing!! I am trying to understand them now. Here are some questions....

1. I can understand most of the Test part. It creates the ActiveX listbox and add the names of 8 images.
What does this mean "Left(shp.Name, 4) <> "Free""? Is it because all names have only 2 or 3 letters? What if the names are "randomly" long, e.g. city names in AU.

2. DoColor part is to highlight the selected image in green color.
What does this mean ".visible = msoTrue"?

3. Reset part is to change the forecolor back to the original 'grey'
Why using ".visible = msoTrue" again? Is it different from the one in DoColor?