PDA

View Full Version : Switching to another drawing in an AutoCAD session



LoneRanger7
10-07-2017, 07:32 AM
My VBA application requires 3D (2D + Height) coordinate info from one drawing to be used in another one in the same VBA running session.


I need to ALIGN one drawing based upon 3 3D points from another drawing automatically.


At the moment I'm running my application to collate the info from drawing 1, store it, close my application to open the other drawing and run my application again to retrieve the info to ALIGN it.


Any idea how I can switch to another loaded drawing in the same VBA running session?


Thanks!

LoneRanger7
10-08-2017, 03:23 AM
I've narrowed the problem down.

I can switch drawings now whilst my application is running.

I've created a combobox to switch drawings whilst my application is running and even ACTIVATE and REGEN the selected drawing:

ThisDrawing.Application.Documents.Item(ComboBox1.ListIndex).Activate
ThisDrawing.Application.Documents.Item(ComboBox1.ListIndex).Regen acAllViewports

The GETPOINT line is only successful in the drawing that was active before I started my application:

PrikPnt = ThisDrawing.Utility.GetPoint(Basepnt, PrikPointTexT)

The error I get in all other drawings I select and activate:

20606

Anyone any idea what's need to be set before I can use it?

Thanks

SamT
10-08-2017, 07:43 AM
VBA is Application specific. What Application is your VBA Project running in?

Application = Excel, Word, Outlook, Etc.

LoneRanger7
10-08-2017, 09:17 AM
Yep, sorry, was inspecific: running in AutoCAD 2016.

Thanks for pointing out.