PDA

View Full Version : Macro to Insert Picture and Filename as a Caption

nowangmanage
11-21-2005, 04:02 AM
Dear all,

I am a VBA novice trying to write code to insert a picture and the filename as a caption. By surfing the net to find example macros and piecing together the relevant bits, here's what I've come up with so far:

Sub InsertPicture()
Dim Doc As Dialog
Dim BClicked As String
Dim picPath As String
Dim picName As String
Dim oRg As Range
Set Doc = Dialogs(wdDialogFileOpen)
With Doc
.Name = "*.jpg"
BClicked = .Display
picName = .Name 'picName holds the picture name
End With
picPath = CurDir 'picPath holds the picture path
Selection.InlineShapes.AddPicture FileName:=picPath & "\" & picName
Selection.InsertCaption Label:="Figure", TitleAutoText:="", Title:=": " & picName, _
Position:=wdCaptionPositionBelow
End Sub

I have two problems:

1. If I try to insert a picture with a filename that contains spaces then I get a run-time error '5152'.

2. The code 'Position:=wdCaptionPositionBelow' positions the caption at the bottom right of the picture but I would prefer it to be underneath it.

Does anyone have any ideas or suggestions? Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Andrew

lucas
11-21-2005, 08:01 AM
Hi Andrew,
I have taken the liberty of enclosing your code in vba tags.....just select your code when posting and hit the "Wrap VBA tags button"

I am no word expert by any means but I think you will have to rename your pictures so that they don't have any spaces....maybe someone will come along and correct me...I have the same problem with your code.

As far as getting the caption below the picture, try adding a carriage return between your insert picture and insert caption code..

Option Explicit
Sub InsertPicture()
Dim Doc As Dialog
Dim BClicked As String
Dim picPath As String
Dim picName As String
Dim oRg As Range
Set Doc = Dialogs(wdDialogFileOpen)
With Doc
.Name = "*.jpg"
BClicked = .Display
picName = .Name 'picName holds the picture name
End With