PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED:] Passing UserForm Text from One Excel Application to Another

jochryem
10-19-2017, 06:11 AM
Hello,

I'm trying to find the VBA code used to pass the value in a UserForm textbox to a separate excel application. I need to do this as I have a master workbook that I use to enter in a User ID and Password for an external database then I call multiple workbooks in separate excel applications that run macros asynchronously. When these workbooks open, I need to update the DNS entry so that it doesn't call for the User ID and Password pair again.

I'm opening the separate workbooks as follows:

Private Sub LaunchReport1()

Dim xlApp As Excel.Application
Set xlApp = New Excel.Application
xlApp.Workbooks.Open Filename:= _
"C:\TEST FOLDER\MasterRefreshTest1.xlsm"
xlApp.Visible = True

xlApp.Run "Launcher"
Set xlApp = Nothing
End Sub

Private Sub LaunchReport2()
Dim xlApp As Excel.Application
Set xlApp = New Excel.Application
xlApp.Workbooks.Open Filename:= _
"C:\TEST FOLDER\MasterRefreshTest2.xlsm"
xlApp.Visible = True

xlApp.Run "Launcher"
Set xlApp = Nothing
End Sub

Jan Karel Pieterse
10-19-2017, 06:37 AM
You can pass (string) arguments to the called routine when you use Application.run:

Application.Run "'" & TheOtherWorkBook.Name & "'!MacroNameHere", "parm1", "parm2"

jochryem
10-19-2017, 06:54 AM
Hi Jan,

I added the following code to the target workbook but it still gives me a debug error. I believe it's because the source and target workbooks are in separate excel application instances?

Application.Run "'Master Report Submission Screen.xlsm'!Update_Credentials"

Is this possible?

Jan Karel Pieterse
10-19-2017, 07:01 AM
You must use application.run in the main workbook to pass the credentials from main to target

jochryem
10-19-2017, 07:09 AM