PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Help With Coding Structure

Rodger
11-26-2017, 07:19 AM
I've been stuck for a few days, trying to figure out how to best structure an Excel application for a friend. I'm relatively new to VBA and have been trying to teach myself by leveraging this, and other forums. Unfortunately, my employer discourages the use of Access, so I'm using this exercise to teach myself more Excel VBA.

The Goal: Create an application that a friend who is fairly computer illiterate can use, to track Client information for her physical training business. The application should allow the entry and updating over several variables including names, services, prices, start/end dates, starting/updated measurements and payments.

Progress: I've created forms that solve for the entry and updating of basic client information and measurements.

Dilemma: I am 100% stuck on how to best structure and code the application to track payments due and payments received, whilst factoring in changes to services selected, price points, payment frequencies and due dates.

I've attached what I've completed so far and am looking for advice on how to best solve for the aforementioned dilemma. Any and all constructive feedback is welcomed, even if it means completely restructuring the current design.

SamT
11-26-2017, 09:54 AM
What I would do
a Sheet for all members, past and present that contains all Member info, with one Column a Unique value
A Sheet for a list current members, with one Column the same Unique value as in the above
A sheet for financials, with one Column the same Unique value as in the above
Other sheets as desired, with one Column the same Unique value as in the above.
The Uniqe Key Columns on some sheets can be hidden and the member names used for User reference.

All code should use the Key Column (The Unique Value), Sheet Formulas, the MemberName column