PDA

View Full Version : Help with macro filter sequencing

davidgahan
12-06-2017, 05:06 AM
Hey everyone,

I'm a beginner to VBAs. Currently I started to learn myself just by recording macros and then going through all the lines and finding out what actually does what. In my company, there is one excel file that comes on daily basis (for past 10 years) and needs to be adjusted in order to get out some data. As an efficiency junkie, I of course tried to make a macro out of the file to simplify the work. Nevertheless, there are some things I struggle with. Could one of you try to record such macro, edit it and send it over, so I can review it and learn some more? I hope it wouldn't take too long to make, and I would very much appreciate it.

Now to the topic. I'm attaching and excel file with dummy data filled (the legend is actual). The data in green columns are the only one I am interested in.

First I need to create a new sheet with 5 locations (Column O, DeliveryDepotCity) each location having 3 cells (ATA, ETA and Adjusted ATA). That's the easy part, these 5x3 numbers are the numbers I'm looking for in the end.

Now this is where I struggle: In order to get the numbers, various filters need to be applied. Instructions as following:

1. from containerID - filter everything that does not contain "part"
2. In AdjPlannedDelivery - untick blanks, untick everything up to today (included)
3. in PlannedDelivery - delete all visible cells
4. in AdjPlannedDelivery - unfilter
(Steps 1-4 are done only once, upcoming steps are then repeated for every DeliveryDepotcity)
5. Select location from deliverydepotcity
6. in planneddelivery - untick all up till today (included)
7. count number of cells with data in ATA and note it down to the sheet we created in the beginning.
8. count number of cells with data in ETA and note it down to the sheet we created in the beginning.
9. In ATA - untick blanks and untick past 4 days