PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED:] How to use corporate template by default and have it launch a form on new document

ShogunPatch
01-27-2018, 02:15 PM
Hi all
I'm new to the forum; self taught, reasonably proficient with Word basics but pretty poor at VBA.

I have created a corporate template which includes not only styles, etc, but also lots of custom building blocks and want to roll it out to all users in the company (all five of them!). But I'm having a few problems:

1. I want to set things up so that it is the template which Word uses by default to create new documents; i.e. if I just click on Word in the Start Bar I want it to launch into a blank document based on the corporate template, not normal.dot; similarly if I click on New Document on the QAT or go to File/New. Specifically, I want to bypass the page where I have to choose the template and have it create using my custom template by default. I would have thought this was a simple and fairly common requirement but I can't for the life of me get it to work that way.

2. When a new document is created, I want a userform to pop up automatically offering options to insert various building blocks (or not, as the case may be). I want that to happen, again, regardless of whether it is as Word launches into a new document based on the template (as per 1. above), or whether a new document is created from within an open instance of Word (by whatever mechanism). The only time I don't want the form to pop up is if an existing document is opened (whether word launches into it or it is opened from within an open instance). My userforms and associated commands are all setup and working, including the pasting of the Buildings Blocks, but I can't get the form to come up correctly and automatically on initial launch and on New.

Any pointers would be much appreciated.

gmayor
01-28-2018, 02:27 AM