PDA

View Full Version : Summing up values in label captions

Spoony
02-28-2018, 03:24 AM
Hi

I have spent many hours trying this with no luck.

I have a number of labels (8) which get filled in correctly (by dbl clicking in a Listbox) and are formatted in the following way

Format(NewOrderForm.Controls("PurPrice1").Caption, "#,###.##") - (there is also PurPrice2,3,4...8)

This is also multiplied by the value in a text box.

This all works fine, however, I'm trying to keep a running total in another label whenever the "Qty" textbox is changed.

I can get it to work without the formatting but I really need to have the formatting as 1,234.56. The VAL function I found out, will not accept the comma.

This is what I have so far. I'm sure there are cleverer ways of doing this but I'm just a novice (and self taught).

Private Sub Qty1_Change()

Dim LngTotalValue, P1, P2 As Double

If NewOrderForm.Qty1.Text = "" Then

NewOrderForm.Controls("TotalPrice1").Caption = ""
Else
NewOrderForm.Controls("TotalPrice1").Caption = Format(NewOrderForm.Controls("PurPrice1").Caption, "#,###.##") * Val(NewOrderForm.Controls("Qty1").Text)

End If

NewOrderForm.TotalPrice1.Caption = Format(NewOrderForm.TotalPrice1.Caption, "#,###.##")

NewOrderForm.Lb_TotalValue.Caption = Val(NewOrderForm.Controls("TotalPrice1").Caption) + _
Val(NewOrderForm.Controls("TotalPrice2").Caption) + _
Val(NewOrderForm.Controls("TotalPrice3").Caption) + _
Val(NewOrderForm.Controls("TotalPrice4").Caption) + _
Val(NewOrderForm.Controls("TotalPrice5").Caption) + _
Val(NewOrderForm.Controls("TotalPrice6").Caption) + _
Val(NewOrderForm.Controls("TotalPrice7").Caption) + _
Val(NewOrderForm.Controls("TotalPrice8").Caption)

NewOrderForm.Lb_TotalValue.Caption = Format(NewOrderForm.Lb_TotalValue.Caption, "#,###.##")

End Sub

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Steve

mancubus
02-28-2018, 04:41 AM
try changing Val to CDbl

did it work?

Spoony
02-28-2018, 05:34 AM