View Full Version : Moving Files & Folders by Last Modified Date

Torantis
03-27-2018, 09:04 PM
Please keep it simple:

Sub snb()
c00 = "G:\OF"
c01 = "G:\old"

If Dir(c01, 16) = "" Then MkDir c01

sn = Split(CreateObject("wscript.shell").exec("cmd /c dir G:\OF\*.csv /b /s /o-d").stdout.readall, vbCrLf)
For j = 1 To UBound(sn)
If DateDiff("d", FileDateTime(sn(j)), Date) > 30 Then Exit Sub
Name sn(j) As c01 & Dir(sn(j))
Next
End Sub

This code looks in folder G:\OF & it's subfolders for all .csv files, sorted by date (descending).
If the last time a file has been saved lays within 30 days from today it will be moved to folder G:\Old.

This code works well and I have used it a couple of times. One piece that I am trying to adjust with it is, I do not want it to move the file to the new location, just make a copy of the file so the data can be changed and sorted within the individual documents without impacting the original file. I am fairly new to using wscripts in my code so do not totally understand which piece to adjust. I see where it essentially renames the file or the directory with the same file name.

Torantis
03-27-2018, 09:31 PM
I was able to figure it out and changed it to the following:

Sub snb()
c00 = "C:\TEST\Move"
c01 = "C:\TEST\Data"

If Dir(c01, 16) = "" Then MkDir c01

sn = Split(CreateObject("wscript.shell").exec("cmd /c dir C:\TEST\Move\*.csv /b /s /o-d").stdout.readall, vbCrLf)
For j = 1 To UBound(sn)
If DateDiff("d", FileDateTime(sn(j)), Date) > 2 Then Exit Sub
FileCopy sn(j), c01 & Dir(sn(j))
Next

'This code looks in folder G:\OF & it's subfolders for all .csv files, sorted by date (descending).
'If the last time a file has been saved lays within 30 days from today it will be moved to folder G:\Old.

End Sub