PDA

View Full Version : VBA to read text file and import specific data from it to excel columns

theo95
05-10-2018, 07:28 AM
Hello,

I have tried to develop a code in VBA in which a text file is loaded and tried by reading line by line to find a specific word that is repeated in it. I would like to extract the values corresponding to it and store them in an excel column. I have tried this with Mid and Right functions as well as the Instr but apparently I am doing something wrong. I am new to coding so any help would be much appreciated.

I will be extracting info such as LaneId SectionId etc.. It should be the same code for all more or less but if i manage to do it correctly for one, doing the rest must be easy!

theo95
05-10-2018, 07:30 AM
I have uploaded the excel file. I cannot upload the txt file for some reason but it contains the following:

<SizeClassificationReport Start="2018-04-27T12:33:52.903+01:00" End="2018-04-27T12:34:53.993+01:00" TimePeriod="1" xmlns="ICDNAV001-SizeClassificationReport"><Classifications><Classification CarriageWayId="1" LaneId="0" SectionId="17800" Classification="Combination" Count="0" AverageSize="0" AverageSpeed="0" /><Classification CarriageWayId="1" LaneId="0" SectionId="17800" Classification="Long" Count="0" AverageSize="0" AverageSpeed="0" />

Paul_Hossler
05-10-2018, 08:15 AM
I have uploaded the excel file. I cannot upload the txt file for some reason but it contains the following:

<SizeClassificationReport Start="2018-04-27T12:33:52.903+01:00" End="2018-04-27T12:34:53.993+01:00" TimePeriod="1" xmlns="ICDNAV001-SizeClassificationReport"><Classifications><Classification CarriageWayId="1" LaneId="0" SectionId="17800" Classification="Combination" Count="0" AverageSize="0" AverageSpeed="0" /><Classification CarriageWayId="1" LaneId="0" SectionId="17800" Classification="Long" Count="0" AverageSize="0" AverageSpeed="0" />

That sort of looks like an XML file, with each piece separated by a NL char.