PDA

View Full Version : Solved: work rates

tkaplan
12-05-2005, 09:21 AM
I was wondering if someone can make some suggestions here:

I am leaving the company i currently work for. They are asking me to stay on as a part time basis (15 - 20 hrs a week) via email, at home, etc. to maintain the applications i have developed for them and possibly some new ones as well. but mostly maintainance.

I am wondering about what the rates are for this type of thing. i dont have a lot of experience (most of my experience is from this company), i have a degree in computer science.

I want to differentiate between if this is going to be a long term or short term. if it's short term i may be giving up a different part time opportunity so it would need to make up for that. if it's long term i am thinking of the $25/hr range??

I am from the midwest in the US (I dont know if that is taken into account...)

any feedback would be appreciated.

Brandtrock
12-05-2005, 11:09 AM
I think 25 sounds low, but you are in a better position to know what they will accept. The time commitment they are asking of you seems to be pretty significant. Consider too whether this allows you to retain any benefits that you may already have (401k, insurance, etc.) If you are out on your own, negotiating some of these to continue may be in your best interest as well.

HTH

tkaplan
12-06-2005, 06:25 AM
Thank you for the response.
I am actually leaving to a different company, so in the short term until the benefits kick in there (about 1 month), benefits would suit me well. but after that i need the money a lot more.
considering that now i am only making 25/hr in overtime, i doubt they'll commit to a higher rate. i was hired in for a completely different position in finance but then they saw i was able to help them with the tech side of things, so i kind of grew in to that position.