PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] List Data Between Two Dates

martellb
07-04-2018, 07:46 AM
Hi, I'm very new to Visual Basic.

I have an excel sheet containing a column of dates (C8:C17514) with each date being repeated 48 times (amongst other data).

I would like to create a script which by pressing commandbutton1 will list the all the dates including repeats between a selected start date and end date (chosen from combo boxes 1 and 2 respectively) in another column.

Thanks in advance

MINCUS1308
07-04-2018, 11:17 AM
can you post a workbook?

MINCUS1308
07-04-2018, 11:26 AM
Attached is my workbook: 22516

Sub InterestingTest()
FirstDate = CDate("1/1/1900")
SencondDate = CDate("1/1/2020")
MyOutputString = ""

For i = 8 To 17514
CurrentValue = Cells(i, "C").Value

If Not IsDate(CurrentValue) Then GoTo NextIteration

If (CurrentValue > FirstDate And CurrentValue < SencondDate) Or (CurrentValue < FirstDate And CurrentValue > SencondDate) Then
MyOutputString = CurrentValue & vbNewLine & MyOutputString
End If

NextIteration:
Next i

MsgBox MyOutputString
End Sub

I'm not sure if that's what you meant

You can point FirstDate and SecondDate to the respective ComboBoxes and it will spit out a list of every date listed between the given date (in the given set of data)
You can also call this Sub with the On_Click event in the form's module

martellb
07-04-2018, 11:46 AM
That looks like that's almost right. I do however want the selection to be inclusive of the two chosen dates and i want it to output into a given column. I have attached an example worksheet for more clarity.

MINCUS1308
07-04-2018, 12:11 PM
For inclusion I will replace the < and > operands with <= and >=.
Not sure why you need the ActiveX controls for the drop downs - Using data validation is probably easier.
And shapes are easier to use as buttons in my opinion.

I made modifications to the file:

Sub InterestingTest()
FirstDate = CDate(Cells(3, "I").Value)
SencondDate = CDate(Cells(4, "I").Value)