PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Getting last modified date shown in footer and cell

kaoticat
08-09-2018, 06:37 AM
Hi there,

I'm an absolute beginner in regards to VBA and would appreciate it a lot if someone could help me solve my problem.

What I'm working with:
I use MS Office Professional Plus 2010 on a common W7 computer. My file is an Excel macro-enabled workbook (xlsm) with several worksheets.

What I want to achieve:
Each worksheet should show a certain date in its footer and in a certain cell. The date must be the time when the worksheet in question was last modified.

What I already achieved:
The first part is already done. Each worksheet shows the requested date in its footer.
This is the code that already works:

Private Sub Workbook_SheetChange(ByVal Sh As Object, ByVal Target As Range)
With ActiveSheet.PageSetup
.RightFooter = "Status:" & " " & Format(Now, "dd/mm/yyyy hh:mm")
End With
End Sub

What my problem is now:
While the first part works just fine, I can't seem to get the second part working, which is letting the same date also show in a cell of the worksheet in question.
I've tried this code:

Private Sub Workbook_SheetChange(ByVal Sh As Object, ByVal Target As Range)
With ActiveSheet.PageSetup
.RightFooter = "Status:" & " " & Format(Now, "dd/mm/yyyy hh:mm")
End With
With ActiveSheet
.Range("V5") = Format(Now, "dd/mm/yyyy hh:mm")
End With
End Sub
But it doesn't work. I see the date showing up in the relevant cell, but it flickers and Excel seems to crash. I also tried putting .Range("V5") = Format(Now, "dd/mm/yyyy hh:mm") in the same "With" as the footer code, but I ended up with errors.

I got the first part of the code from a German forum, but its users don't seem to like explaining stuff to absolute beginners so they can really understand what they're doing. So I'm turning to this forum.