PDA

View Full Version : Copy and Export to CSV of Pivot Table output results

newuser17
10-01-2018, 07:59 AM
Hi experts,

i am an newbie for the VBA and Power Query..

i will have to download reports from our old system and upload to new system everyday.. the downloaded file will have an pivot table output as below after cleaning data. what i need to be do is copy each output based on the kit no and Device to a separate CSV file. which is a duplicative task and the pivot table out put may go up 5000 rows..

each CSV files are names as KIT No & Device eg: AECWC00001 MCY

will any experts may help me to write an VBA/Macro to do this task ? copy each output group to separate CSV file in any folder ?

KIT NO
Device
Sequence
Sum of Try

AECWC00001
MCY

SECWC00135
MCY

SECWC00136
MCY

this will be the output of the CSV file.. for eg output for SECWC000135 MCY

Header1
Header2
Header3
Header4
Header5
Header6
Header7
Header8
Header9
Header10

is this doable in power query ? or VBA ? either way i am more than happy to have a solution.

thanks in advance for your precious time and effort.

werafa
10-01-2018, 03:27 PM
Hi,

You will find this to be a 'mid-level experience' task, but it is quite doable.

You have two steps.
First you have to read the data, and paste it into a new 'ordinary' excel worksheet

to do this, google 'excel vba pivot tables' to see how to read the pivot table with vba.
then write the data into a new sheet (try googling 'excel vba copy paste new sheet')
Referencing pivot tables is not very intuitive unless you are used to working with tables - so be prepared to do a little research on this.

Step two is to save the new sheet as csv
I think the command you need is 'application.filedialogue', so google 'excel vba filedialogue save as csv'
you will also need to create your save-as filename, (create a string by concattenating the required input cell values, eg myName = "A1" & " " & "A2")
(the '&' symbol allows you to create one string out of two or more)