PDA

View Full Version : Create a form in outlook to pre-populate values

Derek_123
10-09-2018, 02:55 AM
Hi Guys

I am new to outlook vba and would like to create a form that will open up when user click on a button on the ribbon. It should pre-populate the following things:

1. The email subject on the form label.
2. 10 digit account number in a textbox on the form. (The account number is the part of the subject line of email so it needs validation like finding 10 digits in the subject line and store it in textbox)
3. There should be listbox which needs to be populated with 20 items suppose A,B,C....T

Can anyone please help me with this?

Many Thanks

Derek_123
10-15-2018, 03:42 AM
Any help on this anyone?

gmayor
10-15-2018, 04:36 AM
Creating a VBA userform is easy enough - see attached, which you can unzip and import into the Outlook VBA editor. The bigger question is what you want to do with the form when you have displayed it.

You can call the attached form with the following code

Sub MyForm()
Dim olMsg As MailItem
Dim strSubject As String
Dim vWord As Variant
Dim i As Integer, j As Long
Dim bValid As Boolean
Dim oFrm As frmMessage
On Error Resume Next
bValid = False
Set olMsg = ActiveExplorer.Selection.item(1)
strSubject = olMsg.Subject
vWord = Split(strSubject, Chr(32))
For i = 0 To UBound(vWord)
If Len(vWord(i)) = 10 Then
bValid = True
Exit For
End If
Next i
If bValid = True Then
Set oFrm = New frmMessage
With oFrm
.txtAccount = vWord(i)
.txtSubject = strSubject
With .ListBox1
For j = 1 To 20
.AddItem Chr(64 + j)
Next j
End With
.Show
If .Tag = 1 Then MsgBox "Do something with the form"
End With
Unload oFrm
End If
lbl_Exit:
Set olMsg = Nothing
Set oFrm = Nothing
Exit Sub
End Sub

Derek_123
10-15-2018, 04:52 AM
I'm getting complie error 'user-defined type not defined' at the following line. Also I can't open the Files attached.

Dim oFrm As frmMessage

gmayor
10-15-2018, 06:43 AM