PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] VBA Message box to display column titles based upon totals

gratefulwork
10-24-2018, 10:34 PM
Hi there,

I have a spreadsheet that contains 9 employees, and their sales in thousands over a period of 10 years. Their total sales over the 10 year period are totaled at the bottom. What I am looking to do is have a message box that pops up and displays the names of the employees who have total sales over 500. So basically the code will look for values over 500 in the bottom row, and then take the corresponding names of the employees and display it in a single message box. I am new to VBA, and have Googled around on how to get started with this but I have not found anything. I have attached my worksheet below, any help is greatly appreciated.

Paul_Hossler
10-25-2018, 07:53 AM
Something like this maybe

Option Explicit

Const cThreshHold As Double = 500#

Sub TotalSales()

Dim Employees As Range
Dim iTotalRow As Long, iCol As Long
Dim sMsg As String

Set Employees = ActiveSheet.Range("D4").CurrentRegion

With Employees

sMsg = "Employees with Total Sales over " & Format(cThreshHold, "$#,##0") & vbCrLf & vbCrLf

iTotalRow = .Rows.Count

For iCol = 2 To .Columns.Count
If .Cells(iTotalRow, iCol).Value > cThreshHold Then
sMsg = sMsg & .Cells(1, iCol).Value & " --- " & Format(.Cells(iTotalRow, iCol).Value, "$#,##0") & vbCrLf
End If
Next iCol
End With

Call MsgBox(sMsg, vbInformation + vbOKOnly, "Total Sales")

End Sub

Toubkal
10-25-2018, 09:44 AM
Hi all,

Assuming you have a fixed table "I mean a period of 10 years" and using it as is "D4:N15", you can try this code:

Option Explicit

Sub TotalSales()
Dim MESG ' a string to build the displayed message
Dim Cell As Range
Dim Nrow, Ncol ' row a col of found name

MESG = "" ' Empty string
For Each Cell In Sheet1.Range("E15:N15") 'Here the range of Totals values is E15 to N15 you can change it if you add an 11th year ;)
If Cell.Value > 500 Then 'You test the value of the cell