PDA

View Full Version : DoCopy access Table -- Duplicating Records

melgra2017
11-12-2018, 10:03 AM
Hi, I am still very new to VBA especially in Access. What I am trying to do is use a form with buttons (with code) that copies a table and pastes it with today's date. So that the user doesn't overwrite the data each time they import a new file. It works however it is duplicating the records in the table and can't seem to figure out why.

The form has 3 buttons
- Step 1 Copy & Paste
- Step 2 Import
- Step 3 Rename & Exports the file to a network folder

Step 1 -- code is as follows
[Private Sub Command2_Click()

DoCmd.CopyObject , "ShipStatusFm_ExportList_previous_" & Format(Date, "mmddyy"), acTable, "ShipStatusFm_ExportList"
]

Any help is greatly appreciated.

[/CODE]

OBP
11-13-2018, 03:30 AM
I am not sure I completely understand what you are actually doing.
However to prevent duplication there should be some kind of "flag" or indicator in the table to prevent duplicated effort.
There should also be a Master Key field which also prevents record duplication.

melgra2017
11-13-2018, 10:51 AM
All I am trying to do is copy the source data table before the new data is imported an overwrites the table.

OBP
11-13-2018, 11:40 AM
Is the new data an "updated" version of the original data, or completely new data?

melgra2017
11-13-2018, 11:57 AM
It will be new updated each month of the original. Try to make sure I can go back if the user has issues.

OBP
11-14-2018, 03:58 AM
If the table is not too large I would suggest that you have an Archive table, this can be updated prior to each import by an Append Query that adds the current data to the Archive table and then runs a Delete query that removes the records in the current table.
The Archive table would have an extra field for the Date of transfer so that you can call up the records for a particular month.
The Archive table could even be in a separate Archive database if required.

lmeser61
11-14-2018, 07:04 AM