PDA

View Full Version : Printing excel sheet to pdf

Paulo Zoio
02-23-2019, 05:16 PM
Hello

This is my first post in this forum, although I've being around reading some posts which had help me programming some VBA routines in excel (I'm a rookie). I've registered because I've went up against a wall with a problem in a coding I'm adapting. I've searched in web and in this forum I haven't found any similar thread, so here it goes.

I'm creating a routine in a excel workbook that:
1st: prints an excel sheet into a pdf file in directory 'Certificados' with the name of cell O5
2nd: combine the above pdf file with a 2nd pdf file (which have a varying name, according to cell D9 of the above mentioned sheet), located in the same directory. For this I've an private function 'MergePDFs'.

I've installed Adobe DC Pro and I've checked 'Adobe Acrobat 10.0 Type Library' in VBA references linked to a *.tlb file.
The 1st step of the routine works well and the 2nd retrieves the message 'Failed to combine all PDFs'. this could be due to inexisting pdf files to merge or some kind of error with the adobe library. The files are in the folder so I presume this problem in proceeding with the routine should be related with *.tlb file or some *.dll so It's possible to open the pdf files...Eventually this is due to some dumb error :think:
I thank you any help you can provide. Bellow the code.

Private Function MergePDFs(arrFiles() As String, strSaveAs As String) As Boolean

Dim objCAcroPDDocDestination As Acrobat.CAcroPDDoc
Dim objCAcroPDDocSource As Acrobat.CAcroPDDoc
Dim i As Integer
Dim iFailed As Integer

On Error GoTo NoAcrobat:
'Initialize the Acrobat objects
Set objCAcroPDDocDestination = CreateObject("AcroExch.PDDoc")
Set objCAcroPDDocSource = CreateObject("AcroExch.PDDoc")

'Open Destination, all other documents will be added to this and saved with
'a new filename
objCAcroPDDocDestination.Open (arrFiles(LBound(arrFiles))) 'open the first file